top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Pumpkin & Pesto Butter Bean Salad

My philosophy for eating healthy is simple: eat real, wholefoods, every day. When eating and making food I am very much a creature of routine and consistency - I find something I love, and I make it a LOT until I move onto something else. Current obsession: this salad. I love a good salad, although too often I find they don't completely satisfy - this one is an exception. Packed with protein, healthy fats, colour and nutrients, this salad is one that will keep you going all afternoon!

Ingredients:

1 cup salad greens of choice (I used a mixture of baby spinach leaf & beetroot leaves)

1 cup diced pumpkin, roasted (Or partly steam and then roast in the oven to crisp it up)

1 can butter beans, drained and rinsed

1 bunch basil

1 cup raw almonds

Half a lemon

1T EVOO

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

1/2 avocado

Coconut oil for cooking

Method:

1. Wash and dry greens, place in salad bowl.

2. Make the pesto! Place in processor the basil, almonds, olive oil and juice from the lemon. Process until you reach the desired consistency.

3. In a pan on the stove, heat a little coconut oil and place butter beans in the pan. Stir very gently so they don't break apart. Add in the pesto, and stir to cover the beans. Once they are coated in pesto turn off the stove and allow to cool.

4. Mix all ingredients in the bowl, top with the avocado and anything else you desire! I didn't find this needed a dressing with the pesto but if you do, add a little more olive oil and lemon juice and mix through well. Yum!


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page